RSS Feed

iWitness

Posted on

The other day I was walking along Tom Mboya Street just behind archives. I usually take a jav(matatu/mathree/daladala) from this damned street to work everyday. I wish I had a car. But, I thank God for this little patience phenomenon called ‘baby-steps’. One day I will own my BMW or Audi. But not this year. Maybe the next.

Back to Tom Mboya street. I am clutching onto my bag hard, because, I really hate the process of replacing my i.d, atm cards, nssf number card, insurance card, club membership cards, and my Jimmy Choo wallet. And my note book. Oh my word! If I could ask for anything back from a robber, it would be my hard cover notebook! It is my life, my plans, my dreams, my work. My precious notebook. I love it more than I love fries. Seeing that replacing such items would be a hustle, and for the notebook, irreplaceable, I wouldn’t want it stolen now would I?

So, I am clutching onto my bag, while listening to Justin Timberlake’s Mirrors. (Good God that song is amazing! o_o). And I am keen on observing my surrounding as I walk. I nonchalantly watch as a pretty middle-aged woman pulls up at the Odeon Cinema in her Vitz(it was a miniature beetle-like car so let’s call it a Vitz) She parked and her young daughter jumped out of the car. She then proceeded to pick her handbag, clutching onto it for dear life(it’s a thing huh?) and closed her door. As she fumbled with her keys and thoughts to lock the door, a well-dressed man approached her.

Well dressed man: Habari yako mama? (How are you ma’am?)

Lady: Mzuri. (Good) [concentrating on locking her car and putting her keys into her bag]

Well dressed man: Mzuri. Mzuri. (Good. Good.) [calmly reaches for her side mirror and begins to methodically detach it from her car]

I mean, the guy wasn’t even trying to hurry up. Daylight robbery in full sight of the owner of the car and her daughter. The lady quickly grabbed her daughter and stood by, shell-shocked. Everyone around them seemed to be about their duties like nothing was happening. I slowed down my walking pace and Justin Timberlake seemed to fade into the background as all this unfolded before my eyes. I quickly glanced around for the Saviour in this particular scene, but there was none. No one even bothered.

Nairobbery. #thumbsdown #fail #phuckyoliving #sowrong #notcool

We are all sitting ducks. (well, walking if you are walking) in this town, esp. the back streets and bus-stations. I am not afraid. God is my protector. But my Note-book. WEH! iCan’t. iWillNot. iAmUnwillingToCan.

Thieves/Robbers/Pickpockets/Snatchers God is watching you.

Be safe people.

My number one tip for a robbery incident, If you get a chance to leave safely, go for it. Ego trips ain’t worth your life. (>>>Men!) Let it go.

Peace!

About evabrenda

In my Own Words

Leave a Reply

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for Adventure. Stay for the Ride!

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Travel Diaries Kenya

Kenya is nature's number one playground, from its lush green valleys, sandy deserts and breathtaking beaches; it's the gift that keeps on giving and we would like to take you on a journey with us as we explore our beautiful Kenya. Written by the host Eve D'Souza

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Rachel's Table

Pull Up a Chair

HALOS OF JOY

...unfading halos of joy encircling their heads, welcomed home with gifts of joy and gladness as all sorrows and sighs scurry into the night. Isaiah 35:10 MSG

